Connect with us

Michigan Wolverines

Woodson officially inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

Cornerback/wide receiver Charles Woodson, perhaps the greatest player to ever don the Maize and Blue, was officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

He was accompanied to the event by his former head coach with the Wolverines, Lloyd Carr.

The Hall of Fame accomplishment puts a cap on one of the greatest careers of any defensive player in college football history. Woodson remains the only primarily defensive player to win the Heisman Trophy award as he won it during Michigan’s National Championship season in 1997. A player who had a knack for making the big play when it mattered most, Woodson’s memorable performances against Ohio State and against Washington State in the Rose Bowl propelled him to victory over regular season superstar Peyton Manning and the legendary Randy Moss among others. To this day, Woodson is the last player to win the Heisman that wasn’t a quarterback or running back.

A two-time first-team All-American at Michigan, Woodson won the Heisman, Thorpe (best defensive back), Bednarik (best defensive player), Nagurski (best defensive player – writers), Maxwell (nation’s best player) and the aforementioned national championship during that 1997 season. He was also the Big Ten Freshman of the Year in 1995 with five interceptions and was also a first team All-Big Ten player in all three of his seasons in Ann Arbor.

Woodson is now the 31st Wolverine to enter the Hall of Fame and the first since former running back Rob Lytle in 2015. The Fremont (OH) native becomes only the third defensive back in program history to enter, joining David Brown and Tom Curtis.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Michigan Wolverines